Contemporary Fiction

The Cockroach by Ian McEwan (Free Download)

The Cockroach by Ian McEwan (Free Download)
The Cockroach by Ian McEwan (Free Download)

The Cockroach by Ian McEwan (Free Download), That morning, Jim Sams, clever but by no means profound, woke from uneasy dreams to find himself transformed into a gigantic creature.

Jim Sams has undergone a metamorphosis. In his previous life he was ignored or loathed, but in his new incarnation he is the most powerful man in Britain – and it is his mission to carry out the will of the people. Nothing must get in his way: not the opposition, nor the dissenters within his own party. Not even the rules of parliamentary democracy.

With trademark intelligence, insight and scabrous humour, Ian McEwan pays tribute to Franz Kafka’s most famous work to engage with a world turned on its head.

Review quote

“A comic triumph… How do you make a show of people who are doing such a fabulous job of making a show of themselves? McEwan manages to do so with great style and comic panache.” — Fintan O’Toole * Observer, Book of the Day * “The Cockroach is a satirical novella for our times, sharply observed and often very funny… an entertaining read, confronting the reality of Britain today.” * Eastern Daily Press, *Book of the Week* * “The latest instalment in his [McEwan’s] imaginative scrambling of English social history and of reality… [McEwan] finds room, amid all the Hansard send-ups and diplomatic silliness, to allude to more troubling physical-philosophical quandaries, while positing an alternative history of economic thought that culminates in a wayward version of our present.” — Leo Robson * New Statesman.

The Cockroach by Ian McEwan (ePub Download).

About Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan is the critically acclaimed author of seventeen books. His first published work, a collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites, won the Somerset Maugham Award. His novels include The Child in Time, which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award; The Cement Garden; Enduring Love; Amsterdam, which won the 1998 Booker Prize; Atonement; Saturday; On Chesil Beach; Solar; Sweet Tooth; The Children Act; Nutshell; and Machines Like Me, which was a Number One bestseller. Atonement, Enduring Love, The Children Act and On Chesil Beach have all been adapted for the big screen.

The Cockroach details

  •  Paperback | 112 pages
  •  129 x 198 x 8mm | 103g
  •  27 Sep 2019
  •  Vintage Publishing
  •  London, United Kingdom
  •  English
  •  1529112923
  •  9781529112924

The Cockroach by Ian McEwan (Git it here).

Previous post
Stillness is the Key by Ryan Holiday (Free Download)
Next post
Burn After Writing by Sharon Jones (Free Download)

Leave a Reply